March 27, 2006

Today, my baby turned one.

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:43 pm by Karen

My beautiful baby boy.
One year ago, at 14 minutes past midnight, you shot into this world. Just Daddy and me with the doctor and nurse in the delivery room, and when they put you on my chest, I could hardly believe you were here. We had been so surprised to find out you were on the way, but I can’t think of a better surprise I could ever have in my life.
It was Easter Sunday morning, 2005. You came a week late as far as I was concerned, but right on time. Lots of people were here in town waiting for you to come – Grandma and Grandpa Bond, GG and Papa, Auntie Rachel, Uncle Chris and Christine, and those who live here, Nana and Opi, Auntie Jenny and Uncle Ken, Auntie Shirley and Uncle Kevin.
You have a quiet, easy going nature, but we are starting to see you stand up for yourself to your sister, and to us too! You don’t like hearing the word no, and look at us and shake your head when you hear it, making it all a joke. I love seeing your little personality starting to shine through more and more. You love to laugh, and one of my favourite parts of each day is before bedtime when we play on the floor and I get you laughing like crazy.
You can crawl around like nobody’s business, and anytime we help you stand or walk holding our hands, you are so proud of yourself you can hardly stand it.

Soon you will be running, and I will be wondering where my baby went.

But until then,

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living,
my baby you’ll be.”

Love, Mama

Posted by Picasa

5 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    Really nice post Karen!

    Happy Birthday Ben!

  2. Angella said,

    A beautiful boy, and his beautiful Mommy 🙂

  3. Heidi said,

    He is sooo cute!
    Happy Birthday Ben!

  4. Amanda Brown said,

    His sweater vests make me melt every time! Happy Birthday, Ben! What a big boy he’s becoming. 🙂

  5. Anonymous said,

    He looks like such a little man in that first picture! Pudgy fingers and all! Cute write-up too…not a dry eye! Happy Birthday, Ben!
    Auntie Rachel


Leave a comment